21 Days – High Heels and Fun Translations

Today I bring you two YES TWO things crossed off my list. But before we get to business – has anyone else seen Magic Mike? All I can say is I’ve never been more happy to be single. Because going home to a husband and/or boyfriend after seeing that movie would be such a colossal disappointment. Sorry guys but I only have two words of explanation: Channing Tatum. That is all.

Anyway, moving swiftly onward …

NEW HEELS

I cannot walk in heels. I cannot walk in heels and I cannot stand in heels. Let’s face it, I cannot so much as wiggle my nose in heels. But I feel as if it’s about time give this 5’2” body the boost it deserves. “But heels are tacky,” you say. “Heels are painful,” you say. To this I say to you – put yourself in my shoes (pun intended). If you’ve got a sister who’s 6” taller than you and 4 years younger, you’d want all the help you could get too. Perspective time: on the day I moved into college, my sister was a freshman in high school. I sent her down to the car to grab some more things and instead she came back with a plethora of new friends that she met in the elevator who were wondering where her room was. And the torture hasn’t stopped since. Dear genetics, I give you my new shoes:

Now everyone take a moment to judge me. Got it out of your system? The envy will kick in soon enough. I think I call this a success. Except for the fact that I haven’t actually worn them yet because I ordered them online. So this item will unfortunately require an update at a later date. Oh well.

Sprechen Sie Deutsch?

Yes, that’s right. Today I started learning a new language. I’m actually almost positive that this was fate. I was having a conversation with one of my intern friends at work today and we got talking about the languages we spoke. I started mumbling something about sometimes being able to speak english when he brought up a free language service that my workplace has (it’s a significantly international environment). I played around with the service for a while which offers options from Swahili to Brazilian Portuguese. They even offer American English but I think I’ve got that one mastered for the most part. After a long time of searching and pondering, I decided on German. My grandmother’s native tongue. I’ve always wanted to have a conversation with her in her language but have never had the opportunity to. I feel as if there are so many more doors to my cultural background that I could open if I had skills in German. For example:

Kannst du mich Apfelstrudel? … which means … Can you make me some apple strudel?

I told you it was useful! Now who’s going to Oktoberfest with me?

Here’s the tally as of today:

  1. Start writing a book
  2. Have a mocktail party
  3. Cook a 5 course meal (no cheating)
  4. Get a pet
  5. Eat ice cream for dinner
  6. Watch a season of one of my favorite cartoons
  7. Take a road trip
  8. Dye my hair
  9. Play a prank
  10. Start learning a new language
  11. Be in a reality show
  12. Write a letter to my future self
  13. Confront a fear
  14. Go 24 hours media free
  15. Buy a pair of SUPER high heals … and successfully wear them without falling
  16. Get a massage
  17. Learn a dance
  18. Go to a drive in theater
  19. Take a class in something I’ve always wanted to do
  20. Figure out my family tree
  21. Complete a scavenger hunt
Leave a Reply

