21 Days – Conquering a Fear

I’m just about 2 days into my 21 days challenge and I’ve actually crossed 2 items off my list which means I’m pretty impressed with myself.

Let’s start with yesterday…

It was a completely fun yet totally exhausting day. With a kid to adult ratio of 8:5, you can just imagine the chaos. The pool, the sugar and the sparklers didn’t help with the “calm” factor. I made these awesome non-alcoholic juice drinks for the kids which went turned out SO WELL. I highly recommend trying this. All you have to do is find 2 or 3 drinks of different colors with varying sugar contents. The drink with the higher sugar goes on the bottom and the lower sugar goes on the top (I used cranberry juice and low-cal blue gatorade). The result is pretty darn cool and a HUGE hit with the little ones. You can find the recipe here.

After a surprise thunderstorm, there was swimming and eating and then firework watching with this crew:

The party arrived at around 2:00 but flashback a few hours and I was crossing my first item off my list. Yesterday I conquered a fear.

Conquering a Fear – CHECK!

Since high school I’ve had the world’s worst body image. I’ve covered myself up and been called a prude many times for my conservative fashion sense among other things. To the point where I’m still mistaken for my four-years-younger sister. I think it was partly because I was too afraid to show off my changing body but I’ve concluded that it was mostly because I was afraid of being judged. I’m almost 21 and I’ve never actually gotten rid of my high school body image. When I put it in writing it sounds absolutely ridiculous. I work hard for the body that I have and yesterday I decided it was time I show it off. I needed to throw caution to the wind a and stop hiding beneath my clothes. My sister (who luckily has confidence abounding) and I set out on a hunt for a new bathing suit when I got an early birthday gift card in the mail. Call it fate! I gave her full reign to pick something out. I’ll be honest, I was a little terrified to see what she’d do but she forced me to step out of my box and try on some things that I never in a million years would have pulled off the shelf. Boy did I ever find something. I put it on and instantly felt incredible with my body (which happens very rarely). That’s when I knew I had to get it. And I wore it all day with a smile from ear to ear because I knew I looked awesome. It wasn’t the look itself but the utter and absolute confidence it gave me. Girls, listen to me and STEP OUT OF YOUR BOX no matter how uncomfortable it makes you. You never know what could happen.

I’ll post about the second item I checked off my list a bit later but for now I’m off to the gym … and then probably back in the pool 😉

STAY CONFIDENT

And for those of you keeping track at home here’s my original ist:

  1. Start writing a book
  2. Have a mocktail party
  3. Cook a 5 course meal (no cheating)
  4. Get a pet
  5. Eat ice cream for dinner
  6. Watch a season of one of my favorite cartoons
  7. Take a road trip
  8. Dye my hair
  9. Play a prank
  10. Start learning a new language
  11. Be in a reality show
  12. Write a letter to my future self
  13. Confront a fear
  14. Go 24 hours media free
  15. Buy a pair of SUPER high heals … and successfully wear them without falling
  16. Get a massage
  17. Learn a dance
  18. Go to a drive in theater
  19. Take a class in something I’ve always wanted to do
  20. Figure out my family tree
  21. Complete a scavenger hunt
Leave a Reply

