A Disney Girl Through and Through

From our New Years 2012 mother-daughter Disney World trip.

This past week has been crazy weird. From random stomach bugs to cancelled yoga classes to oppressive heat to collapsing screen doors/broken washing machines/overflowing dishwashers. It’s just been strange. But I think HOPE this week will lack in craziness even if just a little. Though the past week was odd to say the least, it did have some redeeming qualities. My sister’s dance recital, for instance, was wonderful even despite my queasiness. Dance is something that I’ve come to admire from a safe distance (because I can’t actually even walk in a straight line). To all you dancers out there: keep up the good work so I don’t have to!

Though I’d love to keep talking about dancing and how much more coordinated dancers are then I am, I do have another topic on my mind today. Over the weekend I saw an article online about how there’s been a Mickey Mouse sighting on mars. ON MARS GUYS. Here’s a picture if you don’t believe me.

Yes, my friends. This beloved mouse has reached other worldly stardom. And I’m so proud. Mickey and his pals have stuck by me through thick and thin, sometimes lending one or two circular ears when no human would listen. I am a Disney girl through and through.

I’m almost 21 years old and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to escape the Disney magic that has helped me to make so many memories. Here are just a few moments that, because of Walt Disney and his friends, I will never ever forget.

  • The Disney movie marathons that helped me bond with friends in high school when I was thousands of miles from home. These marathons also brought me closer to my first boyfriend and mended my broken heart when I had to move on from him. I also found inspiration in the characters. After watching the movies over and over (and over and over) I learned to have the guts of Hercules, the humor of Goofy, the love of Belle, the determination of Tiana and, of course, the sass of Tink just to name a few.
  • Setting sail on the Disney cruise with my whole family (cheesy group shirts and all) to ring in the year 2000! I’ll never forget the moment when the two Disney ships at the time met face to face and blasted off fireworks that seemed to last for hours.
  • Spending spring break after spring break with my family at Walt Disney World. Sometimes it was the only week of the year that we all got to spend detached from the world together. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve been but I’ll estimate at least once a year since I was 4! This includes the years that we spent oversees living in London. Disneyland Paris was our host for 3 years and made us feel like home even though we were so far from it. Has anyone else spent Halloween in Disney World? Well, it’s 10x cooler when you’re spending Halloween in Disneyland Paris and everyone speaks EN FRANCAIS. Just sayin’. I had an incredibly fortunate childhood and I’m forever grateful to my parents for allowing my sister and I to let loose in this magical place every year even if it meant they had to spend a week surrounded by children. My sister and I were even bribed with “Disney Dollars” when we were younger to do well on our report cards. Needless to say it worked. Ever since I was about 10, I’ve been the designated family Disney planning consultant. I made timetables, organized flight information, booked restaurant reservations. Let me tell you, when our trips ended, I had to be pried from the door. I never wanted to leave. This continued into my college years when I planned (and funded all by myself) my first spring break with my friends to none other than Disney World. Even if for three days, we still had the very best time at the most magical place on earth!

Up next on the Disney docket is next summer’s Disney cruise with friends and family to celebrate my sister’s graduation from high school and my graduation from college. Is it too early to start counting down the days? Soon enough I will have a countdown on this blog like the weirdo that I’ve always been and will never stop being. Also, I’m going to see Brave tomorrow and am OVER THE MOON excited (haha…ha…pun completely intended).

Everyone sing it with me now … M-I-C-K-E-Y M-O-U-S-E  : )

Leave a Reply

