Where’d the Manners Go?

Hello everyone! I’m back again posting after almost a week. Sometimes my life is unpredictable. This shouldn’t surprise me anymore but somehow it still does. Every time. Just to give you a snapshot – in the last week I’ve had people over for a barbeque, clocked a few hours working for my local deli/bakery, put forth major efforts at my internship and, most importantly, helped my sister from having a finals-induced mental breakdown. OH YA…and I got a mani/pedi.

One of the other things that I did was regain my interest in pinterest (rhyme totally intended). If you’ve never heard of it, don’t worry, I’ll explain. But run while you can before you get sucked into this free-time-devouring black hole. According to wikipedia pinterest is (because I have trouble describing it without confusing myself let alone my readers), “a pinboard style social photo sharing website that allows users to create and manage theme-based image collections such as events, interests, hobbies, and more. Users can browse other pinboards for inspiration, ‘re-pin’ images to their own collections and/or ‘like’ photos. Pinterest’s mission is to ‘connect everyone in the world through the ‘things’ they find interesting’ via a global platform of inspiration and idea sharing”

Everyone caught up? Excellent! So I was wasting some time looking through pins when I found the above graphic entitled “25 manners your kids should know” (credit In Between Laundry). I started reading and was sort of really shocked that these are things that most adults don’t recognize. What happened to the manners that were drilled into us as kids? Surely we didn’t just forget them. Or do we choose to just ignore them? Are manners a sign of weakness or timidness in the power-driven world that we live in today? I guess we will never know and I will save my speculating as that is not the purpose of this post. I would, instead, like anyone who reads this post to do your best to show people some form of COMMON COURTESY each day. When someone holds the door open for you doesn’t it make you smile? Among other things, manners make people smile. And happy people are just more pleasant to be around. Need I point you toward Elle Woods in this part of Legally Blonde for me reasoning? (replace “exercise” with “manners”).

If everyone who reads this blog could make a conscious effort to use their manners, maybe JUST MAYBE we could start a chain reaction. Now go out there, lovely readers, and make people smile!!

Leave a Reply

